The Council's Secretariat office will be closed from midday Friday 22 December 2023 to 8 January 2024. 

The Council would like to welcome all new graduates entering the register. Please note New Zealand graduates wishing to be registered must submit their complete registration application by 15 December 2023 and newly registered practitioners must submit their APC application before 20 December 2023 to receive their APC before the Christmas break.

Council Staff

In 2006 the Medical Sciences Council joined forces with the Medical Radiation Technologists Board and formed a jointly-owned not-for-profit company, Medical Sciences Secretariat (MSS), through which all business support services are provided to these two regulatory authorities.

A cornerstone of the establishment of MSS was a commitment to building synergies between the two authorities in respect of their governance and operation activities.  Managing the operations of the authorities within the most cost-effective framework was a primary consideration when looking to establish the organisational structure.  This has helped both the Medical Sciences Council and the Medical Radiation Technologists Board to maintain relatively low fee structures.

MSS receives governance support and direction from a six-member Board of Directors (three from the Medical Sciences Council and three from the Medical Radiation Technologists Board) who are nominated and given specific delegated authorities by their respective Board/Council.  Service delivery is managed through a Chief Executive/Registrar.

Sue Calvert CEO
Caleb Bridgeman Registrar
Alison McKessar Executive Assistant to the Chief Executive and Registrar
Pam Sceats Finance Manager
Louise Hurst Senior Finance Administrator
Dianne Heybrock Finance Administrator
Gordon Arnold Accounts Payable Administrator
Devon Davies Quality and Data Advisor
Hayley Roud Professional Standards Advisor
Swas Lal Regulation Advisor (Examinations)
Emma Groos Regulation Advisor
Stars Williams Regulation Advisor
Michaela Beer Regulation Advisor
Lynda Greer Regulation Advisor
Valerie Luzzi Regulation Advisor